A book in the making

One day in the summer of 2011 I was walking along a beach, thinking about what I wanted to write.

It was late afternoon, and I had been thinking for a time about daily writing, and how it would be good to have a collection of daily writings based on random words. What would each word mean to me? What connections or connotations would each new word bring to mind?

I was excited by the prospect of writing this, and as I walked with the sun behind me, I saw my shadow stretching out ahead of me. Suddenly I had the title and the theme – a long shadow, and the journey through life.

Then came six months of blood sweat and tears.

I sat with a blank screen for the longest time, until I came up with the idea of first producing a list of words from various sources – prayers, things overheard,things that came into my head as I was walking – I couldn’t tell you now where they all came from.

But slowly, day by day I wrote on each word, and put them out on a blog each day.

This was the genesis of the book “Cast a Long Shadow”, an edited collection of 90 daily writings.

And now – it is with Amazon who are going to publish it!!!

I have not yet confirmed a publication date, but watch this space for update and details!

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

