Being Tony, Chapter 3, Part 3

And so it begins…

 

As it turned out, when I got home Betty told me she had arranged to go up to town with her girlfriends for a shopping expedition in the morning, and would I be OK alone? I told her that it’d be no problem, it was a long time since she’d been out with the girls, and that I’d be okay.

“I’ll probably take the Jag out for a drive along the coast, and have lunch at a pub or something,” I said.

She knew how much I loved driving the Jag, so she didn’t see anything suspicious in that, and I got extra points for being so understanding.

The next morning I was still lying in bed when Betty left, but as soon as she had gone I jumped up and shaved and showered, and checked my wardrobe. All week Maggie had seen me in work clothes, but I needed to make a better impression now; I was a Jag owner, after all, and had to dress the part. I put on my cleanest jeans, one of the two button-down shirts I owned, and the Jag Club leather jacket I’d picked up at a flea market just a couple of weeks before. Just to be on the safe side, I also made sure I had my nicest underwear on.

I took the Jag to a car wash and turned up at Maggie’s Cottage at 11.30. All week I’d seen Maggie in jeans and sweaters, but she must have had the same thoughts as me because today she met me wearing a short summer dress and a shining smile. She climbed into the Jag, and I tried desperately not to be seen looking at her legs as she did so.

“I only have summer clothes here!” she said as she slid into the leather seat, “I hope I won’t freeze!”

“Why don’t you borrow my jacket?” I said. “It’s just an old one I happened to have in the car.” She leaned forward, and I draped the jacket over her shoulders, admiring as I did so the cleavage I could see. “You look beautiful,” I said, and she blushed sweetly. “Thank you,” she said, “You know, you do look very young for your age.”

I smiled and remembered that I’d added a few years to my age to explain why I had a successful business and the money to work on the cottage. I drove along the mud track, and then out on the country roads, not telling Maggie where we were going. “It’s a surprise,” I said, and she seemed happy enough just to be out and about.

I headed off east and was soon on the outskirts of Wells, and a restaurant that I’d heard of right on a cliff top overlooking the sea. It had a good reputation, and I was sure that no-one I knew would be there. As I came to a halt, Maggie squealed with delight and kissed me right on the lips, then blushed and turned away. I opened the car door for her, and she took my arm as we walked into the restaurant.

It had an excellent menu; even someone like me who is more at home in a fish and chip shop than a Michelin starred restaurant could see that. The prices were astronomical compared to what I was used to, and I was greatly relieved that I’d thought to go to Graham and get my cash for the week. Unlike Maggie’s husband, I was not going to leave a paper trail that could be followed.

We had a great time, and ate and drank and talked and laughed like we had known each other for years. I paid the bill, telling Maggie that no, I would not allow her to split the cost, but maybe next time. Just then I was shocked to see Ruby walk in with, I assumed, her husband. I stopped talking, and I’m sure my face must have gone white because Maggie stared at me and then looked around to see what I was looking at.

I recovered quickly and took Maggie’s arm as we walked out of the restaurant. Once we were in the car, she demanded to know what had upset me. I told her a version of the truth; that it was my “ex” that had just walked into the restaurant, and it took me by surprise. She was quiet for a time as we drove, and started to speak, but hesitated and stopped.

As I drove along the country lanes, I was sure that this was the end of anything that might have been about to happen. I stopped outside her cottage and apologized for spoiling our lunch, but she said no, I hadn’t.

“I understand how it is to have a feeling for someone, even when you have been betrayed by them. You told me once – it seems like ages ago, but it was only at the beginning of the week – that you were a good listener. Well, I am too. If you ever want to talk, you know where I am.”

She turned to me and deliberately kissed me full on the lips. When we broke for breath, I looked at her, in her summer dress and a leather jacket way too big for her small body. I wanted her so badly at that moment it was a physical pain. “Come inside,” She said, and I didn’t know if it was a request or an offer, but I quickly opened her door, and we went into the cottage. Soon we were naked, kissing and exploring each other’s bodies. At some point, we made it into the bedroom, and sometime later I noticed that it was getting dark outside, and I knew I really should be leaving. I told her that I’d see her Monday morning, cleaned up the best I could and scurried back to Hunstanton.

Once home, I realized I’d left my jacket at Maggie’s house somewhere, and had to make up a story about leaving it in a pub. Betty was so excited after her day shopping that she could not stop talking about it, which was fine by me as I was still in that after-sex glow from my afternoon. This was one evening when Betty was keen to show her affection for me, and sex that night was a hot and rapid thing. As I drifted off to sleep I knew I should be over the moon to have not just one, but two lovers. But somehow my mind kept going back to Ruby and the slight flush that came over her face when she saw me in the restaurant.

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in Being Tony - A Novel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

