Being Tony, Chapter 3, Part 5

Maggie returns, and all is well?

 

Maggie returned to her cottage in the second week of January, and we were both pleased to see each other, and to get reacquainted again. The work on the cabin was almost completed, and Maggie took to coming to visit me, rather than the other way around. There was no furniture, but we made do with the kitchen counters for our table, and my leather jacket for bed. I was blissfully happy with my lot, but it was not to last.

I never bothered to lock the doors on the cottage when I was there. Back then, most people didn’t lock their doors, and in any case, we were alone on that stretch of beach. One afternoon, Maggie and I had just collapsed after a long session of lovemaking when I was suddenly aware of a cold draft on my back. I looked around to see where it was coming from and was shocked to see Ruby standing in the doorway looking at us. In just a few seconds, her face turned white, and then bright red.

“You fucking bastard! You cheated on me with that whore at the pub, and now you’re cheating on Betty with this old bitch! And to think I was sorry for you working here all alone. You’ll be sorry, and don’t bother trying to talk to me again.” she spat at me, then she turned and rushed out of the door.

My shock was only magnified by Maggie, who grabbed the leather jacket around her and rushed back to her house. For a moment, I sat there, not knowing what to do. Then I quickly dressed and headed home, hoping for some sort of damage control, but Ruby had been quicker than me. I found Betty’s door bolted against me, with Ruby’s note on the floor for me to see.

“Betty – you need to know that bastard Tony is screwing some old bitch down at that cottage he pretends to be working in. I caught them at it like the dogs they are. Tell that bastard that I’m letting Graham know he’s using his cottage as a knocking shop – who knows how many bitches he’s had there? All the best Ruby.”

I almost wanted to laugh. Really Ruby, after leaving a note like that you sign it “all the best”?

I heard the door open and had a moment of hope, but it was soon dashed when I saw Betty’s face. She threw out a pile of my clothes, and as I started to speak, she said, “Go. Just – just go” and shut the door in my face. I picked up my things and headed for the car, and drove back to the coast. When I got there, I saw Maggie’s cottage was locked up again, and her car was gone. I was about to go when I noticed a note addressed to me.

“My sweet darling” it started. “I think I always knew you were lying to me, but you were a great distraction, and I really didn’t care. Thank you so much for the fun and the laughter, and especially the hot sex!

“I was going to say you are a good man, but I’m not sure I actually believe that. Let’s just say you’re probably not as bad as some would paint you. You should go back to Ruby – you two are obviously made for each other.

“Don’t worry about me. I’m sure you won’t, but it makes me feel better to say it. Being with you has let me see that there are a lot more fish in the sea, and it’s time I went fishing.

“I’ll remember our time with affection, and I hope you will too. A part of my heart will always be yours, but it’s time for me to move on and find a new adventure.

Your coat, I’ve left in your cottage, and you’ll find something in the pocket for you.

“M.”

 

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in Being Tony - A Novel, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

