Being Tony, Chapter 6, Part 5

A heart-stopping moment.

 

 

We carried on in this fashion for almost 5 years. Half of the week I’d be working nights at the factory and Judy working at the Waterside, and the other half was us “living the good life”. Who knows how long it would have carried on if one night I hadn’t developed a nosebleed.

It wasn’t just an ordinary nosebleed, it started about 11 o’clock, and just wouldn’t stop for more than an hour. Eventually, the foreman told me I was no use at the factory, and should go home. As soon as I left the building it suddenly dried up, and I thought for a second about going back to work, but then I decided that since I’d been let off early, it would be an excellent opportunity to surprise Judy.

So it was that I got home just before 1 in the morning. As I opened the door, I was amused to see Judy’s lacy bra on the coffee table. I was a bit surprised too, she was always so tidy, and when I got in at my regular hour, the flat was always spotless and nothing was ever out of place. As I walked further into the room, I saw another bra over the chair, panties by the bedroom door, and skirts and tops all over the place. They were all women’s clothing, so I didn’t see a reason to be suspicious; I was just intrigued by this unusual behavior.

Then I opened the bedroom door, and it all fell into place. In the bed was Judy, wrapped in the arms on another woman. They were both naked and there was little doubt that they were more than just friends. I stood for what seemed like years just looking at them. In a way, it would have been easier if it had been another man, I could have punched him out for being with my wife. When we went out in the evenings, Judy was always getting hit on by men, and it always made me happy that she never reciprocated the advances of any of them: now maybe I understood why.

Although it seemed longer, it was probably only one or two minutes until Judy became aware of me at the door, and she nudged her “friend” awake. “We weren’t expecting you home,” Judy said as her friend gathered her clothes before heading for the door. “Jenny, I’ll talk to you tomorrow, OK?” She shouted out to the closing door.

“So; Jenny?” I said, trying to recall where I’d heard that name recently. Then it came to me “Oh, this would be the Jenny who just started to come into the Waterside would it? The one who moved her business here? And you gave her a lift home a couple of weeks ago?”

“Tony, don’t get upset, it was true that she’d had too much to drink, and I offered to give her a lift home, just like I told you.” Judy had wrapped the sheet around herself and now started to walk around the room picking up her clothes. “We got talking and we seemed to have so much in common. I took to giving her a lift most nights and she’d come back here and we’d talk some more.”

“It looked like you’d been doing more than talking.”

“Tony you can believe me or not, but tonight was the first time we, ” she didn’t finish the sentence. “It just all talked until this evening, but then, I’m sorry Tony, I did try to resist. Honestly, I did, but I think I love Jenny, and I think she loves me too.”

That stopped me in my tracks. This wasn’t a casual fling or a one night stand, Judy had used the “love” word, and knowing her as I did, I was pretty sure it was not used lightly.

“So what happens now?” I asked, “are you going to go on seeing her?”

“I don’t think I can stop myself,” she said. “If you like, I could ask Jenny if I can move into her place, but even if not, I think maybe it would be best if I move out anyway. I’ll get my stuff and leave in the morning.

“I’m sorry it ended this way, Tony. I’m really sorry you found out the way you did, but maybe it was for the best in the long run.” She seemed genuinely upset, and for a moment I just wanted to take her in my arms, and beg her to stay. Then the image of her and Jenny naked together in our bed came into my mind’s eye.

“Why are you waiting until morning?” I said, “Why don’t you run after the little bitch now?”

Judy looked at me like I had slapped her across the face. Then she gathered up a few things and headed out. Stopping at the door, she looked back at me and mouthed “I’m sorry,” then turned and shut the door behind her.

 

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in Being Tony - A Novel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

