Being Tony: Chapter 7, Part 11

An unexpected meeting

 

 

Back in my apartment, I poured myself a scotch, and sipped it slowly, looking out my window at the river ebbing away. I was roused from my reverie by the sight of a familiar figure slowly walking along the quayside. I stopped and looked. It couldn’t be, surely? And yet it looked like it was, and if so, what were they doing walking alone along the quayside after 11 pm on a Monday night?

I grabbed my coat and ran outside. Where was the person now – had I missed them? No, coming towards me was a familiar figure, a bit older looking than the last time I’d seen her, but defiantly her.

“Hi Ruby,” I said as I stepped into the light of a lamppost.

“SHIT” Ruby cried “Tony, you really scared me, I didn’t know anyone was about. What the fuck are you doing here?”

“Nice to see you too Ruby” I smiled.

When she calmed down, Ruby told me she was working at the smart restaurant along the quayside and was just walking home after her shift. I invited her in for coffee and offered to drive her to wherever home was. “Where are you living then?” she asked, and I pointed out my window in the apartments. “I was standing up there when I saw you come around the corner” I explained.

She didn’t hesitate. “I’d love to,” she said. “You know, I was at that restaurant on the cliffs above Wells the other day, and I thought of that time I caught you there with Maggie.”

She took my arm as we walked back to the apartment, and it was natural and comfortable. We drank coffee and talked until early in the morning, and then I drove her home through the morning mist. We kissed briefly when we said goodnight, and as we did, I realized how much I’d missed her soft lips against mine. As I drifted off to sleep that night, I realized that without thinking about it, I’d decided to take the job and be in Lynn more. It was just going to be perfect, I knew.

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in Being Tony - A Novel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

