Being Tony: Chapter 8, Part 1

Getting reacquainted

 

Ruby

 

Lynn News: Property Section

For sale, recently renovated cottage on the sought after Sandringham Estate.

Lynn Estates are proud to offer for sale this tastefully restored workman’s cottage, offering four bedrooms, two bathrooms, a separate garage and large barn. It also provides an extensive garden with a neat lawn area, natural wildflower meadow, and apple orchard.

For more details, and an appointment to view this outstanding property, call …

 

After that evening’s chance meeting with Ruby, I met her regularly once a week or so. Her daughter Lucy, who I remembered as a toddler at the Anchor, was now a teenager, and they lived in a rented house in Wotton. Ruby had custody of Lucy, but she and her ex-husband had an easy going routine. Lucy lived most of the time in Wotton, but also stayed with her Dad in Dershingham every other weekend. She also spent some holidays with him and his new wife. They were on OK terms, she told me, and they managed to at least be civil when they happened to meet.

Slowly, I saw less of Mary as my time was more devoted to my office based job in Lynn, but also, I was really enjoying getting to know Ruby again. I took it slowly, and I’m sure that Ruby was wary of getting involved given our past. But we were both older and wiser than when we had been together before, and steadily we became close friends, but never more than friends.

We had a few casual meeting in pubs and then more formal dates where I would take her to the cinema or out for a drive and a meal. Her part-time job in the restaurant near to my apartment got busy as Christmas approached, and she often came up to the apartment for coffee on her way to or from work.

The restaurant wanted Ruby to work right up to Christmas Eve, and as Lucy was going to stay with her dad for Christmas, she agreed to take on the extra shifts. Christmas day that year was on a Thursday, and our office closed early on Wednesday, so I took some of the office staff for drinks in the bar of Ruby’s restaurant. She was going to come to my place for coffee before I drove her home, so I sat at the bar waiting for her after the others had left.

When she finally finished work we walked out on a cold December evening. I had on my thickest jacket, and Ruby put on a full-length coat that zipped all the way up so we decided to walk along the quayside before going back to the flat. It felt nice to walk arm in arm along the quiet waterside, but soon we were shivering and glad to head home. Once inside, I went into the kitchen to make some drinks and Ruby said she needed to go to the bathroom.

I was sitting on the couch with two cups on the table in front of me when Ruby came into the living room. I was surprised to see that she still had her coat wrapped around her, but before I could comment, she said. “So Tony, Santa wants to know if you’ve been a good boy all year?”

“Ruby, you know me better than that!” I laughed, confused, but happy to see the twinkle in her eye.

She just smiled. “Well, I hope you have been good because Santa has a special surprise for you.” With that, she let the folds of her coat come apart, and I saw that she was naked underneath. I stared open-mouthed for a moment, before saying “Oh Ruby, you are just as beautiful as the first day I saw you.”

 

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in Being Tony - A Novel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

