Being Tony: Chapter 8, Part 2

Lucy makes a suggestion…

 

 

We made love all night long and into the early morning, before falling asleep in each other’s arms. When we woke again it was almost noon, and we were hungry, but I didn’t really have anything ready fro Christmas lunch, so I drove us over to Ruby’s place, where she put together a meal in no time at all. Lucy called while we were eating, and Ruby told her that I was there too. Lucy was a good kid, and took it all in her stride, and even asked Ruby to give me a hug from her.

I stayed with Ruby that night but left the next morning before Lucy was due back from her fathers. Before leaving, I told her I loved her, that I always had and always would. To me it felt like all the years we’d been apart had been wasted, and that now we were destined to be together forever.

Back home I was feeling on top of the world, but also somewhat scared. I knew how I felt, and how pure it felt when I was with Ruby, but there were other factors as well, Lucy being one of them.

I spent the day wandering around my flat and staring out of the window, just feeling a mix of emotions that the 2 nights with Ruby had stirred up. It was getting dark when the intercom buzzer from the entrance sounded. I wasn’t expecting anyone, so I cautiously answered and said: “Yes who is it?”

Lucy’s high pitched voice answered, “Hi Uncle Tony, it’s just Mum and me, let us in it’s freezing out here!”

Lucy had quizzed her Mum about why I had been at their house on Christmas Day, and when Ruby admitted we seemed to be getting back together, she’d insisted that they come to visit me. Rather than being angry or hurt about her Mum and my relationship, Lucy had apparently said, “I wondered how long it would take for you two to get together.” Although Ruby had been a frequent visitor, this was Lucy’s first time coming to see me in the flat, and I was somewhat embarrassed at the state of the place. I’m not an untidy person, but I hadn’t really cleaned up from Christmas Eve and was suddenly worried that there might be items of clothing, especially of Ruby’s, lying around.

I needn’t have worried, as Lucy was enchanted with the view out of the window and then just spent the time just chatting away happily. Ruby and I sat on the couch together, and when I cautiously went to hold her hand, she squeezed it back. We were all talking about nothing in particular when suddenly Lucy said “So, when are you two going to get married? Only I would really love to be a bridesmaid, my friend Penny, she was a bridesmaid at her Mums wedding, and I thought that was the cutest thing ever, I was so jealous, and I know this boutique in Dershingham, they have the most adorable dresses, much nicer than the shops here in Lynn…” She went on in that vein for some minutes, seeming to hardly pause for breath.

When Ruby managed to get a word in, she said, “Well love, Tony and I haven’t actually talked about getting married. I think we probably need some time to think it over yet.”

I knew that Ruby was right. We hadn’t talked about marriage, we hadn’t even talked about moving in together. And yet, some part of me knew exactly what to say.

“Actually Ruby,” I said. “I think Lucy would make a beautiful bridesmaid.” I got off the couch and down on one knee. “Ruby, I don’t have a ring to offer you yet, but would you do me the honor of marrying me?” Ruby gasped, then grabbed me and pulled me into her arms. “Of course, I will you stupid thing, it’s all I’ve ever wanted.” We hugged each other and kissed and hugged and kissed some more.

“Ooh gross,” Lucy said, “You guys know I’m still here, right?”

We all laughed at that, and I got up and resumed my seat next to Ruby. When we were alone later that night, Ruby asked if I was sure, and I told her I was never so sure of anything in my life. She sighed and said, “It’s true what I said. I always wanted to be married to you. When David asked me to marry him, I thought he would make a good husband, and he was, but deep inside I knew it was only second best. Maybe that’s why we split up, he was never really the man I wanted.”

We talked late into the night, then made love and slept in a cocoon of our own happiness.

 

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

