Being Tony, Chapter 9, Part 7

An opportunity for change…

 

 

At the end of the 3 months, the owner asked if I’d carry on for another 3, to get them over the Christmas and New Year period. We negotiated a bit, and I agreed on the basis that he threw in a 2 week paid vacation. When I told Ruby about the new deal she was cool at first, but the idea of 14 days in sunny South Africa soon brought her round, and we happily planned our vacation during the dark Edinburgh evenings.

After the long Scottish winter, it was wonderful to have a glorious holiday in the sun of South Africa, and we returned to the expectation that life would continue as it had. On getting home, however, I found a letter from the owner of Fingers.

“Dear Tony,” it started. “I want to thank you so much for all the hard work you put in for Fingers in Edinburgh and Fingers 4 Glasgow – you were great! The Glasgow bar is now fully up and running, and the team there have gained a lot from your presence. Here in Edinburgh, the bars are doing great too, and your previous stewardship of them is really paying off.

“Looking to the future, I am sad to say I don’t see a place in our organization for you going forward, and I have the sad duty to tell you that your services are no longer required. I hope you will accept the enclosed month’s salary in lieu of notice.”

I handed the letter to Ruby, who was indignant on my behalf, and said she knew of some attorneys I could call if I wanted to. I was angry too but didn’t see the point in going to court over it, all that would mean was more fees to the lawyers. I said we would write it off to history, and I’d start again. She came over and hugged me. “I’m very proud of you Tony,” she said. “You always manage to look on the bright side.”

About Derek Knight

Transplanted Brit, now in the US Mid West | Writer, blogger & author | passionate about life | Traveler and home body | amazon.com/author/derekknight | http://derekknight007.wordpress.com/ | https://twitter.com/DerekKnight1 | https://www.facebook.com/Derek.Knight.Author
This entry was posted in Being Tony - A Novel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

